top of page

The 4C's of Diamond Quality

Updated: Jul 14, 2023

How to choose the perfect diamond?

If you are looking for an engagement ring, here are some useful things, that you need to know.

The quality of a diamond is determined by the 4C's. Finding the perfect harmony between these 4 different factors will help you balance beauty and value when looking for a diamond.

The 4Cs of Diamond Quality: Carat, Color, Clarity, Cut

Carat Weight

The carat is the diamond’s physical weight measured in metric carats. One carat equals 1/5 gram and is subdivided into 100 points. Carat weight is the most objective grade of the 4Cs.

Diamonds' Carat Weight

Color Grade

The color of gem-quality diamonds occurs in many hues. In the range from colorless to light yellow or light brown. Colorless diamonds are the rarest. Other natural colors (blue, red, pink for example) are known as “fancy,” and their color grading is different than from white colorless diamonds.

Diamonds' Color Grade

Clarity Grade

Diamonds can have internal characteristics known as inclusions or external characteristics known as blemishes. Diamonds without inclusions or blemishes are rare; however, most characteristics can only be seen with magnification.

Diamonds' Clarity Grade

Cut Grade

Of all the 4Cs, diamond cut has the greatest effect on a diamond’s beauty. In determining the quality of the cut, the diamond grader evaluates the cutter’s skill in the fashioning of the diamond. The more precise the diamond is cut, the more captivating the diamond is to the eye.

Diamonds' Cut Grade

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page